

NIST University (National Institute of Science and Technology), Berhampur Admissions 2026, Courses, Fees & Cutoffs
Highest Pkg
23.85 LPA
Institute Type
Private
Total Courses
11 Courses
NIST University (National Institute of Science and Technology), Berhampur - Overview
Table of Contents
About NIST University (National Institute of Science and Technology), Berhampur
NIST University (National Institute of Science and Technology) is a private university in Berhampur, Odisha, founded in 1996 by Dr. Sukant K. Mohapatra. Set on a 65-acre campus in the Pallur hills, it now offers undergraduate, postgraduate and Ph.D. programmes across five schools: Engineering, Science, Management, Health Science and Agriculture, backed by 15+ Global Innovation and Research Excellence Centers and a network of 19,000+ alumni across 10+ nations.
Explore the comprehensive list of courses offered by NIST University (National Institute of Science and Technology), including detailed fee structures, specializations, and eligibility criteria:
NIST University (National Institute of Science and Technology), Berhampur Courses
11 Courses10+2 with Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics with a minimum of 45% aggregate marks (40% for reserved categories), per Careers360's published NIST eligibility data.
B.Tech/B.E. degree from a recognised university in the relevant subject with a minimum of 50% marks (45% for reserved categories).
BCA/B.Sc. degree in Computer Science/Engineering with 55% marks, OR B.Sc./B.Com./B.A. degree with 50% marks and Mathematics as a subject in Class 12.
10+2 examination with a minimum of 55% marks (45% for reserved categories).
Master's degree in a relevant discipline with a minimum of 55% marks, as per UGC norms. Candidates who qualify UGC NET/GATE (or another national-level test) are shortlisted directly for a viva-voce; others must clear the NIST Ph.D. Admission Test (NISTEE) with a minimum of 50% marks to be eligible for the viva-voce.
10+2 with the relevant science subjects (Physics/Chemistry/Biology/Mathematics depending on branch); exact branch-wise percentage not itemised on the official site.
Graduation in the relevant field with a minimum of 45% marks (40% for reserved categories).
10+2 in any stream from a recognised board.
Bachelor's degree from a recognised university with a minimum of 55% marks (45% for reserved categories).
Passed Class 12 with Physics, Chemistry, and Biology/Mathematics as mandatory subjects, per Pharmacy Council of India norms. Admission via NIST's own online entrance test and counselling.
10+2 with Physics, Chemistry and Biology/Mathematics/Agriculture, per general ICAR/state agricultural-university norms; exact NIST-specific criteria not itemised on the official course page.
| Course | Fee Range | Eligibility |
|---|---|---|
| B.Tech (Bachelor of Technology) 13 specializations | ₹ 5.28L - 7.40L Check Fee Details | 10+2 with Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics with a minimum of 45% aggregate marks (40% for reserved categories), per Careers360's published NIST eligibility data. |
| M.Tech (Master of Technology) 6 specializations | ₹ 1.82L Check Fee Details | B.Tech/B.E. degree from a recognised university in the relevant subject with a minimum of 50% marks (45% for reserved categories). |
| MCA (Master of Computer Applications) 3 specializations | ₹ 2.42L - 2.60L Check Fee Details | BCA/B.Sc. degree in Computer Science/Engineering with 55% marks, OR B.Sc./B.Com./B.A. degree with 50% marks and Mathematics as a subject in Class 12. |
| BCA (Bachelor of Computer Applications) 3 specializations | ₹ 1.68L - 1.72L Check Fee Details | 10+2 examination with a minimum of 55% marks (45% for reserved categories). |
| Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) 1 specialization | ₹ 1.50L - 1.70L Check Fee Details | Master's degree in a relevant discipline with a minimum of 55% marks, as per UGC norms. Candidates who qualify UGC NET/GATE (or another national-level test) are shortlisted directly for a viva-voce; others must clear the NIST Ph.D. Admission Test (NISTEE) with a minimum of 50% marks to be eligible for the viva-voce. |
| B.Sc. (Bachelor of Science) 4 specializations | ₹ 1.65L Check Fee Details | 10+2 with the relevant science subjects (Physics/Chemistry/Biology/Mathematics depending on branch); exact branch-wise percentage not itemised on the official site. |
| M.Sc. (Master of Science) 6 specializations | ₹ 1.20L - 1.60L Check Fee Details | Graduation in the relevant field with a minimum of 45% marks (40% for reserved categories). |
| BBA (Bachelor of Business Administration) 2 specializations | ₹ 1.65L - 2L Check Fee Details | 10+2 in any stream from a recognised board. |
| MBA (Master of Business Administration) 3 specializations | ₹ 3.02L - 3.20L Check Fee Details | Bachelor's degree from a recognised university with a minimum of 55% marks (45% for reserved categories). |
| B.Pharma (Bachelor of Pharmacy) 1 specialization | ₹ 5.06L - 5.20L Check Fee Details | Passed Class 12 with Physics, Chemistry, and Biology/Mathematics as mandatory subjects, per Pharmacy Council of India norms. Admission via NIST's own online entrance test and counselling. |
| B.Sc. Agriculture 1 specialization | ₹ 4L - 4.15L Check Fee Details | 10+2 with Physics, Chemistry and Biology/Mathematics/Agriculture, per general ICAR/state agricultural-university norms; exact NIST-specific criteria not itemised on the official course page. |
NIST University (National Institute of Science and Technology), Berhampur Admissions
Below is the complete admission information including eligible exams, eligibility criteria, admission process, and important notes for each program offered.
Required Entrance Exams
NISTEE (NIST's own entrance test) for most UG/PG programmes; MBA typically requires CAT; B.Pharma has its own online entrance exam and counselling schedule; Ph.D. requires UGC NET/GATE (direct to viva-voce) or the NISTEE Ph.D. Admission Test (minimum 50% marks to be eligible for viva-voce).
Confused about Admissions?
Don't navigate the complex process alone. Chat with our expert counsellors for 1-on-1 guidance on cutoffs, documentation, and securing your seat.
Placement Statistics
Verified campus placements records for NIST University (National Institute of Science and Technology), Berhampur
💡 Placement Highlights & Details (2025-26 )
Per the official NIST Career Development page: as of 5 May 2026, the season recorded 450+ job offers and 140+ recruiters, with a headline highest package of Rs 21 LPA. The page's individual student success-story cards show an even higher outlier of Rs 23.85 LPA (Aditya Maharana, BTech EEE, Texas Instruments) and Rs 23 LPA (R Hiranmayee, Mysa); the highest_package field above uses the higher, more recent Rs 23.85 LPA figure from the student success story, since it is more specific than the rounded '21 LPA' headline. Official year-wise data (most recent 6 seasons, oldest to newest) - Students Registered: 612, 508, 617, 506, 546, 748; Students Placed: 239, 379, 282, 258, 238, 340; Companies visiting campus: 80, 161, 127, 103, 113, 143; Total offers: 362, 619, 407, 446, 355, 514. For the most recent (2026) season specifically, school-wise data is: Engineering - 603 registered, 264 placed; Management - 138 registered, 73 placed; Science - 7 registered, 3 placed. Average/median package and an overall placement percentage are not stated as single headline figures on the official page, so those fields are left blank; you can derive an approximate placement rate by dividing Placed by Registered per season if needed. NIST's official page also reports 19,000+ alumni, 20+ Cr of R&D funding to faculty, and students placed abroad (Study Abroad section) at institutions including National Tsing Hua University and National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University, Taiwan.
Top Recruiting Partners
35 Recruiters


77th nationally and 4th in Odisha among engineering institutes, per the official site's announcement.
IIRF Rankings
29+ years of academic history (est. 1996); 19,000+ alumni across 10+ nations; 5 Global Innovation Centers; 9 Centers of Research Excellence; UGC-2(f) listed; NAAC 'A' grade; AICTE approved; NBA accredited (ECE, MCA).
Official Website Claims
NIST maintains an official NIRF page (nist.edu/NIRF); no specific NIRF rank figure was available in the material reviewed here - check the official page for the latest submission.
NIRF
Complete Rankings Report
Explore all historic rankings and ratings
| Publishing Agency | Ranking / Rating |
|---|---|
IIRF Rankings | 77th nationally and 4th in Odisha among engineering institutes, per the official site's announcement. |
Official Website Claims | 29+ years of academic history (est. 1996); 19,000+ alumni across 10+ nations; 5 Global Innovation Centers; 9 Centers of Research Excellence; UGC-2(f) listed; NAAC 'A' grade; AICTE approved; NBA accredited (ECE, MCA). |
NIRF | NIST maintains an official NIRF page (nist.edu/NIRF); no specific NIRF rank figure was available in the material reviewed here - check the official page for the latest submission. |
Scholarships & Financial Aid
Information regarding scholarships and financial aid opportunities provided by the institute.
Available Scholarships
| Scholarship Name | Eligibility Criteria | Award Amount |
|---|---|---|
NIST University Scholarships | Per the official Scholarship page (nist.edu/scholarships); detailed criteria not itemised in the material reviewed here. | Not disclosed on official website in the material reviewed; check the official scholarship page |
AICTE Scholarship/Fellowship Schemes | Eligible students on AICTE-approved programmes, per AICTE's own scheme criteria (aicte.gov.in/schemes/students-development-schemes), actively promoted by NIST's official news updates. | As per the applicable AICTE scheme |
Campus Infrastructure
Campus Infrastructure & Facilities

65-Acre Green Campus, Pallur Hills
NIST University's campus sits amid the green hills of Pallur, Berhampur, spread across 65 acres, combining academic buildings, research centres, hostels and sports facilities in one integrated campus.

Lecture Hall Complex (LHC), Galleria, Atrium, Octagon, TIFAC & CORE Buildings
Over 60,000 to 100,000+ sq. ft. dedicated academic buildings house classrooms, a 250-seat auditorium in Galleria, the High-Performance Computing Lab, IBM Centre for Excellence, a computerised library and cafeteria in Octagon, 25 classrooms and 11 laboratories in Atrium, and specialised VLSI/Antenna/Device Fabrication/Nanotechnology labs in the TIFAC CORE building (a Centre of Excellence in 3G/4G Communication Technologies sponsored by DST, Govt. of India since 2009).

Department-wise Engineering Laboratories
Dedicated basic and research labs across CSE (High Performance Computing, Cryptography & Security, Computer Vision, IoT & Embedded Systems, CISCO Networking, IBM Tools), ECE (Device Fabrication, Antenna Fabrication, VLSI, WSN, CADENCE, FPGA), EEE (Renewable Energy, Smart Grid, Mechatronics, Process Automation), Mechanical (Heat Transfer, Refrigeration & AC, IC Engines) and Civil (Structural, Transportation, Geotechnical, Environmental Engineering).

5 Global Innovation Centers (GICs)
GICs in 5G/6G & Future Communication, Semiconductors using Advanced Materials, Artificial Intelligence, Biotechnology (with a Marine Biotechnology focus leveraging Odisha's 414 km coastline), and Hydrogen Energy, supported by 100+ research projects and 50+ industry partners.

Centers of Research Excellence (CREs)
9 CREs including an Electric Vehicle Lab (custom-built 6-seater EV, 70 km/charge), Renewable Energy Lab, Robotics Lab, AR/VR Multimedia Lab, AI/ML & Data Analytics Lab, Drone Lab (Centre for Drone Applications), Computer Vision Lab, High-Performance Computing Lab (Dell PowerEdge servers/GPU clusters), and an IoT Lab.

Hostels for 2,000 Students
Campus hostels accommodate 2,000 students. Albert Einstein Hall of Residence (boys, 100,000 sq.ft., 4-storey/6-wing, 500 residents) and Rabindranath Tagore Hall of Residence (boys, 8-storey, 500 residents) house male students; Marie Curie Hall of Residence (girls-only, 48,000 sq.ft., 6-storey, 500 residents) houses female students. All halls offer free Wi-Fi, A/C options, washing machines, medical care, 24x7 security and dedicated mess facilities.
Hostel & Accommodation
Boys Hostel Fee Structure
| Room Type | Course | Annual Fee |
|---|---|---|
| Albert Einstein Hall of Residence (100,000 sq.ft., 4-storey/6-wing, 500 residents) | All programmes | ₹40,000 |
| Rabindranath Tagore Hall of Residence (8-storey, 500 residents) | All programmes | ₹40,000 |
Girls Hostel Fee Structure
| Room Type | Course | Annual Fee |
|---|---|---|
| Marie Curie Hall of Residence (girls-only, 48,000 sq.ft., 6-storey, 500 residents) | All programmes | ₹40,000 |
* Fees are subject to change. Please contact the administration for the latest details.
Campus Gallery

Campus - Infrastructure

Campus - Infrastructure

Campus - Infrastructure

Hostel

Hostel

Sports

Events

Events
%20(1).jpg)
Events - Cultural Fest
Frequently Asked Questions
NIST University (National Institute of Science and Technology) is a private university at Institute Park, Berhampur, Odisha, on a 65-acre campus in the Pallur hills. Founded in 1996, it has completed 29+ years and is included in the UGC-2(f) list.
NIST offers B.Tech across multiple CSE-stream, ECE-stream and core-branch specialisations, M.Tech, MCA, BCA, Ph.D. (School of Engineering); B.Sc. and M.Sc. programmes including Data Science, Biotechnology and Cyber Security (School of Science); BBA and MBA including Business Analytics and Hospital Administration specialisations (School of Management); B.Pharma plus upcoming Medical Lab Technology, Physiotherapy, Optometry & Vision Science and Nursing programmes (School of Health Science); and B.Sc. Agriculture (School of Agriculture).
Per Careers360's published NIST fee data, 1st-year B.Tech tuition ranges from about Rs 1,32,000/year (Civil, Mechanical, Electrical, EEE) to Rs 1,80,000/year (CSE, CSE-AI&ML, CSE-AI&DS, IT), with ECE at about Rs 1,69,000/year. NIST's own website does not publish a fee chart, so confirm the current figure with the admission cell.
Yes, NISTEE (NIST Entrance Examination) is the university's own admission test for most UG/PG programmes. B.Pharma has a separate counselling and admission schedule with its own online entrance test. MBA admission generally requires CAT (or an equivalent). Ph.D. candidates with UGC NET/GATE qualification go directly to a viva-voce; others take the NISTEE Ph.D. test.
B.Tech (Bachelor of Technology), M.Tech (Master of Technology), MCA (Master of Computer Applications), BCA (Bachelor of Computer Applications), Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.)
Counselling Updates
View allLoading updates...
NIST University, Berhampur - Overview
| Particulars | Details |
|---|---|
| Established | 1996 (29+ years) |
| Campus | Institute Park, Berhampur, Odisha 761008 - 65 acres, Pallur hills |
| Recognition | UGC-2(f) listed; NAAC 'A' Grade; AICTE approved; NBA accredited (ECE, MCA) |
| Schools | Engineering, Science, Management, Health Science, Agriculture |
| Admission | NISTEE (NIST's own entrance test); B.Pharma has a separate schedule; MBA typically via CAT |
| Placements (2025-26, as of 5 May 2026) | 450+ offers | 140+ recruiters | Highest package Rs 21-23.85 LPA |
| Alumni | 19,000+ across 10+ nations |
| Contact | +91-0680-2492421/422 | nist.edu |
NIST's academic offering spans B.Tech across 14 engineering specialisations, M.Tech, MCA, BCA and Ph.D. in the School of Engineering; B.Sc./M.Sc. in Biotechnology, Computer Science, Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Data Science and Cyber Security in the School of Science; BBA/MBA (including Business Analytics and Hospital Administration) in the School of Management; B.Pharma (with Medical Lab Technology, Physiotherapy, Optometry and Nursing programmes upcoming) in the School of Health Science; and B.Sc. Agriculture in the School of Agriculture. See the full course list for details.
Fee structures are not published as a chart on NIST's own website; this listing uses the most recent third-party (Careers360) fee data, clearly flagged in each course entry, and recommends confirming the current-year figure with the admission cell. See fees for the branch-wise breakdown.
The Pallur-hills campus houses 5 Global Innovation Centers, 9 Centers of Research Excellence, hostels for 2,000 students, an indoor stadium, swimming pool and adventure-sports programme. Read more on campus facilities.
For admission steps, see admissions; for career outcomes and recruiters, see placements; and for financial support, see scholarships.
Upcoming Exams

IISER
IISER Aptitude Test • June 2026

NEST
NEST Entrance Exam • June 2026

CUET
CUET UG Exam • 11-31 May 2026

PGIMER
BSc Nursing Exam • July-August 2026
