Loading latest updates...
Utkalmani Gopabandhu Institute of Engineering, Rourkela (UGIE Rourkela)
Logo
#States 'Ranked 2nd among all Govt Polytechnics'. The ranking agency and year are not named on the official website, so this claim should be verified before it is published as fact. Institute homepage (no ranking body or year stated)📍 Rourkela, Odisha

Utkalmani Gopabandhu Institute of Engineering, Rourkela (UGIE Rourkela) Admissions 2026, Courses, Fees & Cutoffs

₹

Highest Pkg

4.5 LPA

🏛️

Institute Type

Public

📚

Total Courses

10 Courses

Utkalmani Gopabandhu Institute of Engineering, Rourkela (UGIE Rourkela) - Overview

Table of Contents

🎓

About Utkalmani Gopabandhu Institute of Engineering, Rourkela (UGIE Rourkela)

Official website

Utkalmani Gopabandhu Institute of Engineering (UGIE), Rourkela is a Government polytechnic institute in Odisha under the Skill Development and Technical Education Department, Government of Odisha. Started in 1962 as the Composite Polytechnic, Rourkela, and renamed in 1976, it offers AICTE-approved three-year Diploma in Engineering programmes and is affiliated to the State Council for Technical Education and Vocational Training (SCTE&VT), Odisha. The institute is located on Jail Road, Rourkela - 769004, in Sundargarh district, close to the Rourkela Steel Plant industrial belt.

Explore the comprehensive list of courses offered by Utkalmani Gopabandhu Institute of Engineering, including detailed fee structures, specializations, and eligibility criteria:

Utkalmani Gopabandhu Institute of Engineering, Rourkela (UGIE Rourkela) Courses

10 Courses
Fee Range₹ 2.4K - 17.4K

Passed Class 10 (HSC) from the Board of Secondary Education, Odisha, with a minimum aggregate of 35% in English, Mathematics and Science and at least 30% in each subject; minimum age 14 years; no upper age limit. Admission is by merit of Class 10 marks through Central Counselling by DTET Odisha; seats are reserved for candidates of Odisha.

Fee Range₹ 2.4K - 17.4K

Passed Class 10 (HSC) from the Board of Secondary Education, Odisha, with a minimum aggregate of 35% in English, Mathematics and Science and at least 30% in each subject; minimum age 14 years; no upper age limit. Admission is by merit of Class 10 marks through Central Counselling by DTET Odisha; seats are reserved for candidates of Odisha.

Fee Range₹ 2.4K - 17.4K

Passed Class 10 (HSC) from the Board of Secondary Education, Odisha, with a minimum aggregate of 35% in English, Mathematics and Science and at least 30% in each subject; minimum age 14 years; no upper age limit. Admission is by merit of Class 10 marks through Central Counselling by DTET Odisha; seats are reserved for candidates of Odisha.

Fee Range₹ 2.4K - 17.4K

Passed Class 10 (HSC) from the Board of Secondary Education, Odisha, with a minimum aggregate of 35% in English, Mathematics and Science and at least 30% in each subject; minimum age 14 years; no upper age limit. Admission is by merit of Class 10 marks through Central Counselling by DTET Odisha; seats are reserved for candidates of Odisha.

Fee Range₹ 2.4K - 17.4K

Passed Class 10 (HSC) from the Board of Secondary Education, Odisha, with a minimum aggregate of 35% in English, Mathematics and Science and at least 30% in each subject; minimum age 14 years; no upper age limit. Admission is by merit of Class 10 marks through Central Counselling by DTET Odisha; seats are reserved for candidates of Odisha.

Fee Range₹ 2.4K - 17.4K

Passed Class 10 (HSC) from the Board of Secondary Education, Odisha, with a minimum aggregate of 35% in English, Mathematics and Science and at least 30% in each subject; minimum age 14 years; no upper age limit. Admission is by merit of Class 10 marks through Central Counselling by DTET Odisha; seats are reserved for candidates of Odisha.

Fee Range₹ 2.4K - 17.4K

Passed Class 10 (HSC) from the Board of Secondary Education, Odisha, with a minimum aggregate of 35% in English, Mathematics and Science and at least 30% in each subject; minimum age 14 years; no upper age limit. Admission is by merit of Class 10 marks through Central Counselling by DTET Odisha; seats are reserved for candidates of Odisha.

Fee Range₹ 2.4K - 17.4K

Passed Class 10 (HSC) from the Board of Secondary Education, Odisha, with a minimum aggregate of 35% in English, Mathematics and Science and at least 30% in each subject; minimum age 14 years; no upper age limit. Admission is by merit of Class 10 marks through Central Counselling by DTET Odisha; seats are reserved for candidates of Odisha.

Fee Range₹ 2.4K - 17.4K

Passed Class 10 (HSC) from the Board of Secondary Education, Odisha, with a minimum aggregate of 35% in English, Mathematics and Science and at least 30% in each subject; minimum age 14 years; no upper age limit. Admission is by merit of Class 10 marks through Central Counselling by DTET Odisha; seats are reserved for candidates of Odisha.

Fee Range₹ 5.8K

Passed B.Tech / B.E. / B.Sc. (Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics) / Diploma; minimum age 16 years; no upper age limit.

Utkalmani Gopabandhu Institute of Engineering, Rourkela (UGIE Rourkela) Admissions

Admission Process Overview

Below is the complete admission information including eligible exams, eligibility criteria, admission process, and important notes for each program offered.

Required Entrance Exams

No entrance examination; selection is on marks secured in Class 10 (100% weightage) through Central Counselling by DTET Odisha

Eligibility Criteria
Passed Class 10 (HSC) from the Board of Secondary Education, Odisha, with a minimum aggregate of 35% in English, Mathematics and Science and at least 30% in each subject; minimum age 14 years (except mining and drilling); no upper age limit.
Admission Process
Admission to the first-year Diploma in Engineering is through Central Counselling by DTET Odisha on the basis of Class 10 marks; details are on the Odisha diploma admission portal (diplomaadmissionodisha.nic.in). Seats are reserved for candidates of Odisha state only, with reservation of SC 15%, ST 23%, children of Green Card holders 5%, children/wards of ex-servicemen 2%, physically challenged 3%, women candidates in co-ed polytechnics 30%, sports candidates 0.5% and NCC certificate holders 1%.

Required Entrance Exams

Third-semester Lateral Entry into Diploma in Engineering/Technology (marks-based)

Eligibility Criteria
10+2 or equivalent with Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics (PCM) from the Council of Higher Secondary Education, Odisha; candidates who passed Class 10 with at least 35% marks from the Board of Secondary Education, Odisha are also eligible to apply; minimum age 14 years; no upper age limit.
Admission Process
Admission is through the Odisha diploma admission portal referred to on the institute's admission page; hostel admission for newly admitted lateral entry students is notified separately by the institute.

Required Entrance Exams

Post Diploma in Industrial Safety (PDIS): eligibility-based, self-financing course

Eligibility Criteria
Passed B.Tech / B.E. / B.Sc. (Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics) / Diploma; minimum age 16 years; no upper age limit.
Admission Process
Intake of 30 seats; admissions are notified by the institute (for example, an admission notice for Post Diploma in Iron & Steel Manufacturing and Plant Management was published in October 2024). Confirm the current process with the institute.
🤔

Confused about Admissions?

Don't navigate the complex process alone. Chat with our expert counsellors for 1-on-1 guidance on cutoffs, documentation, and securing your seat.

Placement Statistics

Verified campus placements records for Utkalmani Gopabandhu Institute of Engineering, Rourkela (UGIE Rourkela)

Highest Package
₹4.5 LPA
Average Package
N/A
Median Package
N/A
Placement Rate
85%

Year-on-Year Placement Trend Comparison

Average Package Growth (LPA)

Batch 2024 (per the institute's official 2024 placement list)N/A
Batch 2021-22 to 2023-24 (per the institute's 2024-25 Mandatory Disclosure)₹2.5 LPA

Highest Package Growth (LPA)

Batch 2024 (per the institute's official 2024 placement list)₹4.5 LPA
Batch 2021-22 to 2023-24 (per the institute's 2024-25 Mandatory Disclosure)N/A

Top Recruiting Partners

24 Recruiters
Maruti Suzuki India Ltd.
Tata Hitachi
Calderys India Refractories Ltd.
Hindalco Industries Ltd. (including Hirakud FRP & Foil)
Jindal Stainless Ltd., Jajpur
AM/NS India
JSW (HR Vijayanagar)
RHI Magnesita India Ltd.
Fosbel India Pvt. Ltd.
TPWODL
Tata Power Northern Odisha Distribution
Hindustan Coca-Cola Beverages Pvt. Ltd.

States 'Ranked 2nd among all Govt Polytechnics'. The ranking agency and year are not named on the official website, so this claim should be verified before it is published as fact.

Institute homepage (no ranking body or year stated)

States that the institution is 'ranked No 1 in Placement of students'. No ranking agency or year is named, so this claim should be verified before publishing.

Institute placement page (no ranking body or year stated)

Chemical Engineering branch accredited; Mechanical Engineering shown as NBA accredited on the homepage but as applied in the 2024-25 Mandatory Disclosure (status to be verified).

NBA

Complete Rankings Report

Explore all historic rankings and ratings

Publishing AgencyRanking / Rating
Institute homepage (no ranking body or year stated)
States 'Ranked 2nd among all Govt Polytechnics'. The ranking agency and year are not named on the official website, so this claim should be verified before it is published as fact.
Institute placement page (no ranking body or year stated)
States that the institution is 'ranked No 1 in Placement of students'. No ranking agency or year is named, so this claim should be verified before publishing.
NBA
Chemical Engineering branch accredited; Mechanical Engineering shown as NBA accredited on the homepage but as applied in the 2024-25 Mandatory Disclosure (status to be verified).

Scholarships & Financial Aid

Information regarding scholarships and financial aid opportunities provided by the institute.

Available Scholarships

Scholarship NameEligibility CriteriaAward Amount
Fee Waiver

General category meritorious students whose family's annual income is less than INR 4.20 lakh, and SC & ST students, per the criteria in the 2024-25 Mandatory Disclosure.

Fee waiver for 21 students per year plus SC & ST students, per the 2024-25 Mandatory Disclosure.
Institution-level Scholarships

Eligible students as notified by the institute from time to time.

440 scholarships offered, per the 2024-25 Mandatory Disclosure; individual amounts depend on the scheme.
Topper Scholarship / Girls Topper Scholarship

Meritorious students and girl toppers, as notified in the institute's student announcements (for example, the Topper Scholarship notice of July 2025).

As per the scheme notified by the institute; amount not stated on the announcement listing.
Economically Backward Meritorious Students (EBMS) Study Allowance

Economically backward meritorious students, as notified in the institute's student announcements.

As per the scheme notified by the institute; amount not stated on the announcement listing.
Post-Matric Scholarship (Government schemes)

Eligible students under the Post-Matric Scholarship schemes, including the scheme for minority students, as notified to students.

As per the applicable Government scheme's current terms.

Campus Infrastructure

Campus Infrastructure & Facilities

Classrooms, Laboratories and Workshops

Classrooms, Laboratories and Workshops

32 classrooms of about 100 sq m each, 38 laboratories of about 200 sq m each, 2 drawing halls of 300 sq m and tutorial rooms, with major equipment including CNC lathe and milling machines, universal testing machine, compression testing machine, spectrophotometer, micro hardness tester, and MATLAB, GIS and total-station facilities, per the 2024-25 Mandatory Disclosure.

Central Library

Central Library

A library of about 36,000 books with access to 12 e-journals and e-library facilities, per the 2024-25 Mandatory Disclosure.

Computer Centres and IT Infrastructure

Computer Centres and IT Infrastructure

Three computer centres with 200 LAN-connected systems and 100 Mbps internet bandwidth, with software including C, C++, MATLAB, AutoCAD and PLC, per the 2024-25 Mandatory Disclosure.

Central Examination Facility

Central Examination Facility

12 examination rooms with a capacity of about 800, along with a barrier-free built environment for disabled and elderly persons, per the 2024-25 Mandatory Disclosure.

Sports, Soft Skills and Training & Placement Cell

Sports, Soft Skills and Training & Placement Cell

Games and sports facilities, extra-curricular activities and soft skill development facilities are available; the Training & Placement Cell coordinates campus drives, apprenticeship training and registration on the Central Placement Cell portal of DTET Odisha.

Hostel & Accommodation

* Fees are subject to change. Please contact the administration for the latest details.

Location not available for this college.

Frequently Asked Questions


Yes. UGIE Rourkela is a Government institution under the Skill Development and Technical Education Department, Government of Odisha. It was started in 1962 and offers AICTE-approved three-year Diploma in Engineering programmes affiliated to SCTE&VT, Odisha.

UGIE offers three-year Diploma in Engineering in Ceramic Technology, Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Electronics & Telecommunication Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Metallurgical Engineering, Mechatronics Engineering and Computer Engineering & IoT, plus a one-year self-financing Post Diploma in Industrial Safety (PDIS).

The annual college fee is INR 5,800 for General category students (INR 17,400 for the 3-year diploma), INR 3,300 for TFW/EWS students (INR 9,900 total), and for SC/ST students INR 3,300 per year if the parent's annual income is above INR 2.5 lakh (INR 9,900 total) or INR 800 per year if it is below INR 2.5 lakh (INR 2,400 total). Hostel fee is INR 3,000 per annum.

Intake is Metallurgical Engineering 90, Mechanical Engineering 90, Electrical Engineering 60, Chemical Engineering 50, Electronics & Telecommunication Engineering 50, Ceramic Technology 40, Civil Engineering 40, Mechatronics Engineering 30 and Computer Engineering & IoT 30, plus 30 seats in the Post Diploma in Industrial Safety.

Diploma in Ceramic Technology, Diploma in Chemical Engineering, Diploma in Civil Engineering, Diploma in Electrical Engineering, Diploma in Electronics & Telecommunication Engineering

Counselling Updates

View all

Loading updates...

Utkalmani Gopabandhu Institute of Engineering (UGIE), Rourkela: Overview

UGIE was established to meet the technical manpower needs of Rourkela Steel Plant and other industries of the state, and it was the only institution in Eastern India offering Diploma Engineering in Chemical and Metallurgical branches at the time. Ceramic Technology was introduced in 1995 for the first time in Eastern India, and Mechatronics Engineering and Computer Engineering & IoT were added in 2024. The Chemical Engineering branch is NBA accredited, and the institute's website states that it is ranked 2nd among Government polytechnics (the ranking body and year are not named).

With a sanctioned diploma intake of 480 seats in 2024-25, an annual college fee starting at INR 800 and going up to INR 5,800 depending on category, separate boys' and girls' hostels at INR 3,000 per annum, and campus recruitment from companies such as Maruti Suzuki, Tata Hitachi, Hindalco and Jindal Stainless, UGIE Rourkela is a popular choice for Class 10 students in Odisha seeking an affordable, industry-linked engineering diploma.

caderaedu logo

Compare them on

fees, placements & rankings

Compare Now!
Student

Popular News

View all →

Upcoming Exams

IISER

IISER

IISER Aptitude Test • June 2026

NEST

NEST

NEST Entrance Exam • June 2026

CUET

CUET

CUET UG Exam • 11-31 May 2026

PGIMER

PGIMER

BSc Nursing Exam • July-August 2026

Do you think the data is wrong?
Book Free SessionUGIE, Rourkela: Fees, Courses & Cutoff | CaderaEdu