Loading latest updates...
Indian Institute of Management Amritsar (IIM Amritsar)
Logo
#64th in the Management category (down 17 places from 47th in NIRF 2024), per MBAUniverse.com's analysis of the NIRF 2025 list. Some aggregator pages print different numbers for the same year, so the official list on nirfindia.org should be used for the final figure. NIRF 2025 (Management)📍 Amritsar, Punjab

Indian Institute of Management Amritsar (IIM Amritsar) Admissions 2026, Courses, Fees & Cutoffs

₹

Highest Pkg

43 LPA

🏛️

Institute Type

Public

📚

Total Courses

7 Courses

Indian Institute of Management Amritsar (IIM Amritsar) - Overview

Table of Contents

🎓

About Indian Institute of Management Amritsar (IIM Amritsar)

Official website

Indian Institute of Management Amritsar (IIM Amritsar) is a public business school and Institute of National Importance established in 2015 as the 15th IIM by the Ministry of Education with the support of the Government of Punjab. The IIM Amritsar Society was registered on 27 July 2015 and the first MBA batch (2015-17) began in August 2015. The institute operates under the Indian Institutes of Management Act, 2017, awards its own degrees, and its official homepage displays an AACSB member badge. Its academic sessions are held at the Manawala campus on the Amritsar-Jalandhar G.T. Road, roughly 14 km from the city centre, with some administrative functions still at the Punjab Institute of Technology building.

Explore the comprehensive list of courses offered by Indian Institute of Management Amritsar (IIM Amritsar), including detailed fee structures, specializations, and eligibility criteria:

Indian Institute of Management Amritsar (IIM Amritsar) Courses

7 Courses
Fee Range₹ 19.50L - 21.50L

Bachelor's degree in any discipline with at least 50% aggregate marks (45% for SC/ST/PwD candidates) and a valid CAT 2025 score; final-year students may apply if they complete all requirements by 30 June 2026. For the 2026-28 batch the minimum CAT cut-offs for the first shortlist are: General - 80 (QA), 75 (DILR), 80 (VARC), 90 overall; EWS - 80 / 75 / 77 / 90; NC-OBC - 65 / 60 / 65 / 80; SC - 55 / 50 / 52 / 55; ST and PwD - 40 / 35 / 37 / 40. Pre-PI score weights: CAT 50%, Class 10 10%, Class 12 10%, graduation 5%, gender diversity 10%, work experience 15%; post-PI score: PI 70%, work experience 10%, gender diversity 10%, academic diversity 10%; final aggregate = 0.7 x pre-PI + 0.3 x post-PI.

Fee Range₹ 19.50L - 21.50L

Same eligibility and selection process as the MBA: bachelor's degree with at least 50% (45% for SC/ST/PwD), valid CAT 2025 score above the category-wise minimum percentiles (90 overall for General and EWS), followed by a Personal Interview; the official MBA-BA admission document for the 2026-28 batch uses the same composite-score method and category-wise shortlisting.

Fee Range₹ 19.50L - 21.50L

Same eligibility and selection process as the MBA: bachelor's degree of at least three years' duration with a minimum of 50% marks (45% for SC/ST/PwD), a valid CAT 2025 score above the category-wise minimum percentiles, and a Personal Interview; the official MBA-HR admission document for the 2026-28 batch follows the same composite-score method.

Fee Range₹ 12L - 12.03L

Bachelor's degree with at least 50% marks (or equivalent CGPA) and a minimum of three years of managerial, entrepreneurial or professional work experience after graduation; a valid CAT, GMAT, GRE or GATE score, or the IIM Amritsar Admission Test (IAAT), followed by a Personal Interview.

Fee Range₹ 17.75L - 39.25L

Candidates must not be more than 20 years old as of 1 August 2026, must have passed Class XII/HSC or equivalent in 2025 or be appearing in 2026 with Mathematics or Applied Mathematics as a compulsory subject, and must have a valid IPMAT score (conducted by IIM Indore); at least 60% in Class X and XII is required (category-wise relaxations apply). Shortlisted candidates appear for a Personal Interview, after which a composite-score merit list is prepared.

Bachelor's degree with at least 60% marks (or 6.0 CPI/CGPA or first class) and a valid score in a national test such as CAT, GATE, GMAT, GRE or JAM, followed by a Personal Interview; candidates from non-engineering backgrounds may apply. Application fee is INR 1,000 (INR 500 for SC/ST candidates), as stated in the official MSDSM FAQs.

Fee Range₹ 0

As per the doctoral admission policy on the official website (Ph.D. admission process and the 2026-27 online application page); applicants are shortlisted on national-level test scores and academic record, followed by an interview.

Indian Institute of Management Amritsar (IIM Amritsar) Admissions

Admission Process Overview

Below is the complete admission information including eligible exams, eligibility criteria, admission process, and important notes for each program offered.

Required Entrance Exams

CAT (MBA, MBA-BA, MBA-HR); IPMAT conducted by IIM Indore (IPM); CAT / GMAT / GRE / GATE or IAAT (Executive MBA); CAT / GATE / GMAT / GRE / JAM (M.Sc. in Data Science and Management)

Eligibility Criteria
MBA family: bachelor's degree with at least 50% aggregate marks (45% for SC/ST/PwD) and a valid CAT score above the category-wise minimum percentiles (for CAT 2025, 90 overall for General and EWS, 80 NC-OBC, 55 SC, 40 ST and PwD, along with sectional minimums); final-year students may apply if they finish all requirements by 30 June 2026. IPM: Class XII with Mathematics, age up to 20 years as of 1 August 2026. EMBA: graduation plus three years of work experience.
Admission Process
Two-stage composite-score process for the MBA batch of 2026-28: (1) candidates meeting the CAT sectional and overall minimums are ranked on a pre-PI score (CAT 50%, Class 10 10%, Class 12 10%, graduation 5%, gender diversity 10%, work experience 15%), with Class 10 and 12 marks normalised against the 90th percentile of each board; (2) shortlisted candidates appear for a Personal Interview and are scored on PI 70%, work experience 10%, gender diversity 10% and academic diversity 10%. The final rank uses aggregate score = 0.7 x pre-PI score + 0.3 x post-PI score, applied uniformly across categories, with offers made category-wise on that rank. The MBA-BA and MBA-HR processes follow the same policy. Admission for the 2026-28 batch is complete; the next MBA cycle (2027-29) uses CAT 2026 scores.
🤔

Confused about Admissions?

Don't navigate the complex process alone. Chat with our expert counsellors for 1-on-1 guidance on cutoffs, documentation, and securing your seat.

Placement Statistics

Verified campus placements records for Indian Institute of Management Amritsar (IIM Amritsar)

Highest Package
₹43.0 LPA 66.3%
Average Package
N/A
Median Package
N/A
Placement Rate
85%

Year-on-Year Placement Trend Comparison

Average Package Growth (LPA)

Batch 2024-26 Batch (official Final Placement page): highest CTC INR 43.00 LPA; average CTC of top 50 students INR 18.60 LPA (median INR 18.00 LPA); average CTC of top 50% of the batch INR 16.30 LPA (median INR 15.25 LPA); graduating cohort of 256 students; no whole-batch average publishedN/A
Batch 2023-25 Batch (official Final Placement page): highest CTC INR 25.86 LPA; average CTC of top 20% INR 19.11 LPA (median INR 18 LPA); 300+ organisations participated; graduating cohort of 318 students with average work experience of 28 monthsN/A
Batch 2022-24 Batch (official Final Placement page): highest overall CTC INR 58.52 LPA (international offers grew 2.5x; highest domestic package reported by third-party portals at INR 28 LPA); BFSI contributed 38% of opportunities; official average CTC not stated on the web page (the PDF report carries it)N/A
Batch 2021-23 Batch (official Final Placement page): average CTC INR 16.51 LPA, median INR 16 LPA, average of top quartile INR 20.57 LPA; 120+ organisations participated₹16.5 LPA
Batch 2020-22 Batch (official Final Placement page): 100% placement; average CTC INR 14.63 LPA; average of top quartile INR 18.54 LPA; 285+ offers from 110 companies₹14.6 LPA

Highest Package Growth (LPA)

Batch 2024-26 Batch (official Final Placement page): highest CTC INR 43.00 LPA; average CTC of top 50 students INR 18.60 LPA (median INR 18.00 LPA); average CTC of top 50% of the batch INR 16.30 LPA (median INR 15.25 LPA); graduating cohort of 256 students; no whole-batch average published₹43.0 LPA
Batch 2023-25 Batch (official Final Placement page): highest CTC INR 25.86 LPA; average CTC of top 20% INR 19.11 LPA (median INR 18 LPA); 300+ organisations participated; graduating cohort of 318 students with average work experience of 28 months₹25.9 LPA
Batch 2022-24 Batch (official Final Placement page): highest overall CTC INR 58.52 LPA (international offers grew 2.5x; highest domestic package reported by third-party portals at INR 28 LPA); BFSI contributed 38% of opportunities; official average CTC not stated on the web page (the PDF report carries it)₹58.5 LPA
Batch 2021-23 Batch (official Final Placement page): average CTC INR 16.51 LPA, median INR 16 LPA, average of top quartile INR 20.57 LPA; 120+ organisations participatedN/A
Batch 2020-22 Batch (official Final Placement page): 100% placement; average CTC INR 14.63 LPA; average of top quartile INR 18.54 LPA; 285+ offers from 110 companies₹25.2 LPA

Top Recruiting Partners

23 Recruiters
ICICI Bank
ICICI Lombard
Arcesium
Moody's
D.E. Shaw
Flipkart
Flipkart
Cognizant
TresVista
PwC
EY
EY
Genpact
Kotak Life

64th in the Management category (down 17 places from 47th in NIRF 2024), per MBAUniverse.com's analysis of the NIRF 2025 list. Some aggregator pages print different numbers for the same year, so the official list on nirfindia.org should be used for the final figure.

NIRF 2025 (Management)

47th in the Management category

NIRF 2024 (Management)

Not confirmed at the time of writing - verify on nirfindia.org before publishing any 2026 rank.

NIRF 2026 (Management)

Complete Rankings Report

Explore all historic rankings and ratings

Publishing AgencyRanking / Rating
NIRF 2025 (Management)
64th in the Management category (down 17 places from 47th in NIRF 2024), per MBAUniverse.com's analysis of the NIRF 2025 list. Some aggregator pages print different numbers for the same year, so the official list on nirfindia.org should be used for the final figure.
NIRF 2024 (Management)
47th in the Management category
NIRF 2026 (Management)
Not confirmed at the time of writing - verify on nirfindia.org before publishing any 2026 rank.

Scholarships & Financial Aid

Information regarding scholarships and financial aid opportunities provided by the institute.

Available Scholarships

Scholarship NameEligibility CriteriaAward Amount
Institute's & Corporate Sponsored Scholarships (MBA, MBA-BA, MBA-HR)

Awarded on scholastic achievement: the student with the highest CGPA in each of the MBA, MBA-BA and MBA-HR programmes at the end of the first and second year, plus the top four students in each of the first and second year from a combined CGPA list of the three programmes; several corporations also sponsor awards for academic excellence and all-round achievement, per the official Fees/Financial Aid/Scholarship page.

Equal to the full tuition fee for the year in which the scholarship is awarded
Need-Based Scholarship

Institute keeps a buffer equal to the tuition fee for need-based support, disbursed case by case after evaluating student applications; the institute also guides students on external need-based scholarships.

Case-by-case, from a pool equivalent to the tuition fee
IPM Scholarships (Undergraduate and Postgraduate Phases)

Undergraduate phase: merit-based award to the student with the highest CGPA in each of the three UG years (CGPA not below 3.0, no grade drop, no disciplinary issues) and merit-cum-means assistance for family income below INR 8,00,000 a year (top three students by CGPA among applicants). Postgraduate phase: eight awards a year, including the toppers of the MBA, MBA-BA, MBA-HR and IPM at the end of each of the first and second year plus four from a combined list.

Merit award: tuition fee of the year; merit-cum-means: INR 2,00,000 per student (maximum three students); postgraduate phase: tuition fee of the year
Government Scholarships and Education Loans

Students may apply for Ministry scholarships through the National Scholarship Portal (scholarships.gov.in) and for education loans from banks, including through the PM Vidyalaxmi scheme; the institute points students to banks directly for eligibility and interest rates.

As per the applicable scheme or bank terms

Campus Infrastructure

Campus Infrastructure & Facilities

Academic Complex and Library

Academic Complex and Library

The Manawala campus has an academic complex with smart classrooms, tiered lecture halls and seminar rooms, faculty offices and a fully digitised library with access to global databases and e-resources, per the official campus page.

Hostels and Mess

Hostels and Mess

Students are accommodated in purpose-built hostels with well-furnished rooms, common lounges and recreational areas; hostel charges are included in the programme fee, while mess is covered by a refundable deposit adjusted against actual expenses.

Incubation, Entrepreneurship and Centres of Excellence

Incubation, Entrepreneurship and Centres of Excellence

An incubation centre is being developed on campus to support entrepreneurship, alongside the Centre for Entrepreneurship and MSMEs and the Rekhi Centre for Science of Happiness listed as the institute's Centres of Excellence.

Student Committees, Clubs and Cells

Student Committees, Clubs and Cells

Student life runs through committees (Alumni, Cultural, Hostel and Mess, Industry Interaction, Media and Public Relations, Merchandise and Sponsorship, Placements, Students' Council, Sports), clubs such as ABC (Analytics and Business Computing), FEC (Finance and Economics), HRithvi (HR), Markophilic (Marketing), OperaZeal (Operations), Stratagem (Strategy and Consulting), Vaani (Literary and Public Speaking), 50mm (Photography) and Sankalp (Social Service), and cells such as Anukriti, Anvesh and the Laughter Cell.

Hostel & Accommodation

* Fees are subject to change. Please contact the administration for the latest details.

Location not available for this college.

Frequently Asked Questions


IIM Amritsar offers a two-year MBA (General Management), MBA in Business Analytics, MBA in Human Resource Management, a hybrid Executive MBA, a five-year Integrated Program in Management (BSQFE and MBA), a two-year M.Sc. in Data Science and Management jointly with IIT Ropar, a Ph.D. programme, a Post-Doctoral Fellowship and executive education programmes.

The total programme fee for the 2026-28 MBA is reported at INR 19,50,000 (about INR 9,75,000 per year). Adding the refundable INR 50,000 caution deposit and INR 75,000-a-year mess deposit takes the all-in outlay to about INR 21.5 lakh. The MBA, MBA-BA and MBA-HR pages on the official site link to the same fee-structure PDF.

For the first shortlist, General and EWS candidates need at least the 90th overall percentile with sectional minimums (General: 80 in QA, 75 in DILR and 80 in VARC; EWS: 80, 75 and 77). NC-OBC needs 80 overall, SC 55, and ST and PwD 40. These are minimums for the PI shortlist, not final admission cut-offs.

Selection is a composite-score process. A pre-PI score combines CAT (50%), Class 10 (10%), Class 12 (10%), graduation (5%), gender diversity (10%) and work experience (15%). After the Personal Interview, a post-PI score weighs the PI at 70% with work experience, gender diversity and academic diversity at 10% each. The final rank is 0.7 x pre-PI score plus 0.3 x post-PI score.

Master of Business Administration (MBA) - General Management, MBA in Business Analytics (MBA-BA), MBA in Human Resource Management (MBA-HR), Executive MBA (EMBA) - Hybrid Programme, Integrated Program in Management (IPM) - BSQFE + MBA

Counselling Updates

View all

Loading updates...

Indian Institute of Management Amritsar (IIM Amritsar): Overview

The flagship two-year, full-time residential MBA in General Management is complemented by an MBA in Business Analytics, an MBA in Human Resource Management, a hybrid Executive MBA, a five-year Integrated Program in Management (BSQFE and MBA), a joint M.Sc. in Data Science and Management with IIT Ropar, a Ph.D. programme and a Post-Doctoral Fellowship. Research and outreach are anchored by the Rekhi Centre for Science of Happiness, the Centre for Entrepreneurship and MSMEs, the annual ICMM conference and executive education programmes. The institute is led by Director Prof. Samir Kumar Srivastava.

IIM Amritsar's MBA admission is CAT-based and uses a transparent, published composite-score policy that weighs CAT, Class 10 and 12 marks, graduation marks, work experience and gender and academic diversity before a Personal Interview. The official 2024-26 placement report shows a highest CTC of INR 43.00 LPA and an average of INR 18.60 LPA for the top 50 students, and the institute ranked 64th in NIRF 2025 (Management).

caderaedu logo

Compare them on

fees, placements & rankings

Compare Now!
Student

Popular News

View all →

Upcoming Exams

IISER

IISER

IISER Aptitude Test • June 2026

NEST

NEST

NEST Entrance Exam • June 2026

CUET

CUET

CUET UG Exam • 11-31 May 2026

PGIMER

PGIMER

BSc Nursing Exam • July-August 2026

Do you think the data is wrong?
Book Free SessionIIM, Amritsar: Fees, Courses & Cutoff | CaderaEdu